• Français
Home > Masters

PhD

Sciences Po Doctoral School

Created in 1988, the Sciences Po Doctoral School now offers five PhD programs, in law, economics, history, political science and sociology. Alongside these five programs it offers a specialized doctoral track (”discipline plus”) in international relations that can be taken in conjunction with the doctoral programs in political science or history. These doctoral programs offer two years of master’s studies followed by three years of PhD research.

The doctoral programs have three primary objectives. The first is to offer a course of instruction allowing students to acquire genuine expertise in the chosen discipline during the two years of study at the master’s degree. Secondly, through their research thesis, students can use this period to formulate their dissertation project under the best possible conditions and, more generally, ensure they are ready to embark on dissertation work without delay. Lastly, through this format, the doctoral school aims to prepare students for high-level academic careers but also for the increasingly numerous career options that require candidates to hold an internationally recognized doctorate.

Students are offered an ideal environment to help them achieve these goals. They have access to one of the largest libraries in continental Europe, benefit from tutorial assistance throughout the study program, work in close collaboration with outstanding research centers and are guided by leading scholars who supervise fewer than five doctoral students on average. They may also pursue studies abroad thanks to Sciences Po’s partnership with prestigious universities and apply for one of the many and often generous bursaries – 60% of PhD students not yet engaged in a full-time career on admission to the program obtain a research grant. Lastly, they benefit from an administrative support ratio that is unique in France and that guarantees broad, high-quality assistance to the academic community as a whole.

The school’s priorities are naturally reflected in its new organization. In particular, each of the five doctoral programs is headed by a director of doctoral studies. Reporting directly to the director of the doctoral school and the school’s committee and seconded by the administrative team, they are responsible for the PhD students in their respective disciplines, from admission to award of the final degree. They chair the thesis committees responsible for delivering an opinion on admission and continuation of studies. Lastly, they are responsible for selecting candidates for the majority of the bursaries and other grants available.

Under the impetus of its director, Sciences Po has made research a priority. The doctoral school, like the research centres, benefits from this ambitious policy and can today offer its students particularly attractive conditions of study.

amphiamphiamphi

 

Doctoral program in law

Course director
professor Mikhail Xifaras

As a core part of its research activity, the School of Law offers a doctoral program within Sciences Po’s multidisciplinary doctoral school and in partnership with other prestigious universities (Harvard Law School, Cornell Law School, McGill Law School, Kyoto School of Law, Keio Law School, Goethe Universität-Frankfurt, Facoltà di Giurisprudenza dell’Università di Torino, Faculdade de Direito da Universidade de São Paulo…).

This doctoral program offers a very solid education to master and PhD students keen to work in legal research and undertake academic careers. Deliberately restricted to a very small number of students, it is intended for those of them keen to make an important theoretical contribution to the understanding of legal phenomena in a given field of the law. Thanks to the very small number of candidates admitted, PhD students are guaranteed very close supervision. The education offered is based on the knowledge of fundamental legal techniques, concepts and methods of reasoning, a rigorous and critical approach to the tools of legal theory, an opening to multidisciplinary legal approaches and extra-legal disciplines, familiarity with the diversity of legal methods, perspectives and cultures, and, lastly, adoption of a comparatist and global viewpoint.

Doctoral program in economics

Director
Professor Thierry Mayer

This program offers a high-level education in economics encompassing all the different fi elds in which PhD candidates are expected to acquire expertise: quantitative and data analysis skills using statistical methods; a methodology that enables modeling of individual and collective choices according to the principles of rationality (opportunity cost, maximization, marginal reasoning); alternative methodologies enabling an understanding of the limits of the rationality principle (limited rationality, behavioral economics), and analysis of exchange and general equilibrium situations and their macroeconomic implications. Alongside these classic, purely economic approaches essential for doctoral studies in the fi eld of economics, Sciences Po also allows students to explore the approaches suggested by other disciplines such as political science, law and sociology. The program is aimed at students intending to pursue academic careers in France and abroad, careers requiring high-level doctoral studies (international organizations, think tanks, research institutes, government ministries, banks, insurance), and, more generally, any student keen to acquire a solid, internationally recognized, theoretical and practical education.

Doctoral program in history

Director
professor Paul-André Rosental

The doctoral program in history aims to produce outstanding historians keen to pursue academic careers in France and abroad or any other career that requires a high-level education in history and an aptitude for research (secondary school teaching, journalism, publishing, the media, documentation, government ministries and regional authorities, research centres, think tanks, NGOs, international organizations, etc.). The program focuses more particularly on preparing students for research by encouraging them to read widely to familiarize themselves with and assimilate seminal historical works. It also offers tutorial supervision and training workshops in the use of archives and the different sources of information (images, films, radio, television, web, etc.), together with seminars focusing on quantitative methods and interview and courses in other disciplines.

Doctoral program in political science

Director
professor Jean-Marie Donegani

This program offers a high-level, integrated, comprehensive and interdisciplinary education. It is aimed at students keen to pursue academic careers in France and abroad, careers requiring high-level doctoral studies (international organizations, think tanks, research institutes, government ministries, journalism, publishing, NGOs), and, more generally, any student keen to acquire a solid, internationally recognized, theoretical and practical education.

The program offers three concentrations:

  • Political theory
  • Comparative Politics
  • Political Sociology and Public Action

Each concentration is directed by a team of French and international specialists comprised of Sciences Po professors and researchers, together with visiting professors and researchers. The program places particular emphasis on research methods in the social sciences. The faculty includes leading specialists in electoral sociology and data analysis and the laboratories are equipped with the most sophisticated data-processing.

Doctoral program in sociology

Director
professor Didier Demazière

The Program in sociology aims to produce outstanding sociologists keen to pursue academic careers in France and abroad or any other career requiring a high-level education in sociology and an aptitude for research (centres of expertise for government ministries and regional authorities, research centres, international organizations, consulting, survey institutes, think tanks, NGOs, secondary-school teaching, journalism, etc.). This program offers a theoretical education in the fundamental concepts of the discipline; specialized courses in specific fields of sociology; broad, in-depth methodological training – both quantitative and qualitative – based on concrete exposure to fieldwork and data; training in international comparisons; close collaboration with research centres whose reputation is internationally recognised (CEE, CSO, OSC) and the supervision of a very dedicated academic team.

• English
Accueil > Masters

PhD

L'École doctorale de Sciences Po

Créée en 1988, l'École doctorale de Sciences Po comprend désormais cinq programmes doctoraux, en droit, économie, histoire, science politique et sociologie. À ces cinq programmes s'ajoute un parcours doctoral en relations internationales (dit «discipline plus») qui s'adosse au programme doctoral en science politique ou en histoire. Ces programmes doctoraux offrent deux années de niveau master suivies de trois années de thèse.

Les programmes doctoraux ont trois objectifs principaux. D'abord, il s'agit d'offrir un ensemble d'enseignements permettant d'acquérir une véritable expertise disciplinaire pendant les deux années de préparation du master.

Ensuite, cette période est mise à profit à travers le mémoire de recherche, pour que les étudiants élaborent leur projet de thèse dans les meilleures conditions et, plus généralement, pour qu'ils soient réellement préparés à s'engager sans retard dans leur thèse. Enfin, grâce à ce dispositif, l'École doctorale se donne pour but de dispenser une formation préparant à des carrières académiques de haut niveau comme à des métiers, de plus en plus nombreux, requérant d'être titulaire d'un doctorat reconnu internationalement.

Pour mener à bien un tel projet, les étudiants bénéficient d'un environnement privilégié. Ils ont accès à l'une des plus importantes bibliothèques d'Europe continentale, sont aidés par un suivi tutorial tout au long de leur scolarité, sont accueillis dans des centres de recherche de référence et dirigés par des personnalités qui encadrent moins de cinq doctorants en moyenne. À cela s'ajoutent des possibilités d'études à l'étranger grâce aux liens de Sciences Po avec des universités réputées, des financements nombreux et souvent élevés – 60 % des doctorants qui ne sont pas dans la vie professionnelle à temps plein au moment de leur admission obtiennent un financement – et, enfin, un taux d'encadrement administratif sans équivalent en France, garant de la qualité et de l'ampleur de l'aide fournie à toute la communauté académique.

Les priorités de l'école se retrouvent naturellement dans sa nouvelle organisation. En particulier, chacun des cinq programmes est dirigé par un directeur des études doctorales. Placé sous la responsabilité directe du directeur de l'École doctorale et du Conseil de l'école, secondé par l'équipe administrative, il a en charge les doctorants de sa discipline, depuis l'admission jusqu'au diplôme. Il préside les comités de thèse dont l'avis est recueilli pour l'admission et la poursuite des études. Il lui revient également de sélectionner les candidatures à la plupart des financements.

Sous l'impulsion de son directeur, Sciences Po a fait de la recherche sa priorité. Bénéficiant, comme ses centres de recherche, de cette politique ambitieuse, l'École doctorale est aujourd'hui à même d'offrir à ses étudiants un cadre particulièrement attractif.

Doctorat en Droit

Responsable
Mikhail Xifaras, Professeur des Universités

Au cœur de son activité de recherche, l'École de Droit propose un programme doctoral au sein de l'École doctorale pluridisciplinaire de Sciences Po et en partenariat avec des universités prestigieuses (Harvard Law School, Cornell Law School, McGill Law School, Kyoto School of Law, Keio Law School, Goethe Universität-Frankfurt, Facoltà di Giurisprudenza dell'Università di Torino, Faculdade de Direito da Universidade de São Paulo…).

Ce programme doctoral propose une formation d'excellence aux étudiants de master et de doctorat qui se destinent à la recherche en droit et aux carrières académiques. Volontairement ouvert à un nombre très restreint d'étudiants, il s'adresse à ceux d'entre eux qui souhaitent apporter une contribution théorique significative à la compréhension des phénomènes juridiques, dans un domaine donné du droit. Le très petit nombre de candidats admis permet un réel suivi des doctorants. La formation proposée repose sur la connaissance des techniques, concepts et modes de raisonnement juridiques fondamentaux, l'approche rigoureuse et critique des outils de théorisation du droit, l'ouverture aux approches pluridisciplinaires et non disciplinaires du droit, la familiarité avec la diversité des méthodes, des perspectives et des cultures juridiques, et enfin l'adoption d'un point de vue comparatiste et global.

Doctorat en Économie

Responsable
Thierry Mayer, professeur des universités

Ce programme offre une formation d'excellence en économie reposant sur plusieurs volets dont la maîtrise est indispensable : un angle quantitatif et d'analyse des données, à partir de méthodes statistiques ; une méthodologie permettant de décrire les choix individuels et collectifs selon les principes de rationalité (coût d'opportunité, optimisation, raisonnement à la marge) ; des méthodologies alternatives permettant de comprendre les limites de la rationalité (rationalité limitée, économie comportementale) ; une analyse des situations d'échange et d'équilibre général avec des implications macroéconomiques. À ces approches classiques, purement économiques, indispensables à tout parcours doctoral en économie, Sciences Po offre la possibilité d'associer les approches d'autres disciplines comme celles de la science politique, le droit ou la sociologie. Le programme s'adresse à la fois à des candidats se destinant à des carrières universitaires (en France et à l'étranger), à des métiers qui exigent une formation doctorale du plus haut niveau (organisations internationales, think-tanks, organismes de recherche, ministères publics, banques, assurance), à tous ceux enfin qui souhaitent acquérir une solide formation théorique et pratique de niveau international.

Doctorat en Histoire

Responsable
Paul-André Rosental, professeur des universités

Le programme doctoral d'histoire forme des historiens d'excellence qui se destinent aux carrières académiques en France et à l'étranger, ou à toutes les autres activités professionnelles qui requièrent un haut niveau de formation en histoire et des aptitudes pour la recherche (enseignement dans le secondaire, journalisme, édition, médias, documentation, ministères et collectivités territoriales, centres d'études, think tanks, ONG, diverses organisations internationales, etc.). Le programme doctoral accorde une attention toute particulière à l'apprentissage de la recherche en incitant les étudiants et les doctorants à la lecture personnelle afin de prendre connaissance et d'assimiler les œuvres fondamentales en histoire. Il propose des tutorats, des ateliers de formation aux archives et aux sources les plus variées (images, films, radio, télévision, web, etc.), des séminaires de formation aux méthodes quantitatives et à l'entretien, et des enseignements dans d'autres disciplines.

Doctorat en Science politique

Responsable
Jean-Marie Donegani, professeur des universités

Ce programme offre une formation d'excellence intégrée, complète et pluridisciplinaire. Il s'adresse à des candidats qui se destinent à des carrières universitaires en France et à l'étranger, à des métiers qui exigent une formation doctorale de haut niveau (organisations internationales, think tanks, organismes de recherche, ministères publics, journalisme, édition, ONG), à tous ceux enfin qui souhaitent acquérir une solide formation théorique et pratique de niveau international.

Au sein du programme sont proposées trois majeures :

  • Théorie politique
  • Politique comparée
  • Sociologie politique et action publique

Chaque majeure est animée par une équipe de spécialistes français et internationaux : les professeurs et les chercheurs de Sciences Po, ainsi que les professeurs et chercheurs invités. La formation accorde une importance particulière aux méthodes de la recherche en sciences sociales. Les meilleurs spécialistes de sociologie électorale, les meilleurs analystes de données enseignent à Sciences Po, et les laboratoires possèdent d'importantes ressources informatiques de traitement de données.

Doctorat en Sociologie

Responsable
Didier Demazière, directeur, professeur des universités

Le programme doctoral de sociologie forme des sociologues d'excellence qui se destinent aux carrières académiques en France et à l'étranger, ou à toutes les autres activités professionnelles qui requièrent un haut niveau de formation en sociologie et des aptitudes pour la recherche (centres d'expertise pour les ministères et collectivités territoriales, centres d'études, diverses organisations internationales, consultance, instituts de sondage, think tanks, ONG, enseignement dans le secondaire, journalisme, etc.). Ce programme apporte : une formation théorique aux fondamentaux communs à la discipline, une spécialisation dans les champs spécifiques de la sociologie, une immersion et un approfondissement méthodologique de haut niveau, quantitatif comme qualitatif, fondé sur une confrontation concrète au terrain et aux données, une formation à la comparaison internationale, un accompagnement au sein de centres de recherche dont la réputation est internationalement reconnue (CEE, CSO, OSC), un encadrement assuré par un personnel académique fortement impliqué.